New to mining, advice would be appreciated

Hello,
I’m new to litecoin but have been following crypto currencies for awhile. My friend has been more heavily involved in litecoin than I have and wants me to go into mining litecoin with him. I know what mining is and did more research on mining specific to litecoin to get a better understanding. He has the rigs chosen out and site as well. I was just wondering if there’s any tips or first time mining mistakes to avoid. Anything at all would be appreciated.
Thanks

1 Like

If he’s choosing ‘rigs’ and not ‘asics’ you’re gonna have a bad time.

I think he was using as a slang term for miner.
https://shop.bitmain.com/antminer_l3_litecoin_asic_scrypt_miner.htm?flag=specifications

Here’s the actual “miner” link we were looking at and the specs

Ok, gotcha. Yeah, so far from my l3+s, they’re reliable machines. You just want to consider electricity cost and how they they get when you have multiple running in your home. It’s been tougher finding cheap competitive hosting lately. But they’re good. ROI looks kinda iffy, hopefully in 6mos for new batches but depends on a lot of factors.

litecoinpool.org/beginners-guide

2 Likes

So you’re currently mining yourself? How much of a spike in your electricity bill did you notice? My friend lives in california but the cost per watt out here in Georgia is way cheaper. It’s like .12 cents a watt and I’m pretty sure they don’t double price per watt after a certain number used.

1 Like

Thanks a bunch!

1 Like

its 10 cents per kwh here in GA so 1000 watts running for 1 hour costs 10 cents…and 1000 watts running for 24 hours costs $2.40 per day and $72 every 30 days…if you run nonstop

I have $1800 watts running and the jump in power was exactly $1.80 per 10 hours or 10cents per kwh

check out coinwarz.com and it should give you a good idea of the money you can make mining

1 Like

I have an L3+ at 11.8c per Kw/h. It costs $2.26 per day.