Help to recover Litecoin - will pay reward!

Hi,

I made the silly mistake of attempting to send litecoin from my Coinbase account to localbitcoins.com (a bitcoin wallet).

My coins now appear to be stuck in limbo. The transaction was confirmed but I didn’t receive any coins in my wallet. I checked blockcypher and they are currently sitting there unspent.

I’ve contacted both Coinbase and Localbitcoins to see if the coins can be recovered and both have said that the transaction is irreversible.

From what I’ve seen elsewhere online it is possible to recover them but the process is complicated. I am not technical at all so if someone is able to help me reclaim the coins with clear instructions in laymans terms I’d be happy to pay that person 1 litecoin for the trouble.

Thanks in advance for any help/advice!

Lets start with the first things first:

Who owns the bitcoin address where you sent the coins to?

It was sent to a wallet on my account on localbitcoins.com - so I assume they own the address?

(Technical knowledge is close to zero so you may have to be a little patient with me…)

It looks like with localbitcoins.com you don’t actually get the private key for your own addresses so in fact you don’t really own the address but localbitcoins.com does.

Localbitcoins.com can fix this by using the bitcoin’s address private key in a litecoin wallet. It’s not complicated but if localbitcoins.com is not willing to help there is no other option I’m afraid.

Coinbase can’t help because they don’t have private keys to localbitcoin.com’s addresses…

I will gladly help localbitcoins.com if they need assitance but I can’t imagine they would need help with this anyway…

If i were you I would tell localbitcoins.com exactly this and ask them once again to recover your ltc…

1 Like

OK I’ll try contacting locabitcoins.com. They didn’t seem that interested in helping first time round but I’ll give it another shot with the info you just shared.